You are here


Welcome to the web portal of the IEEE Green ICT initiative!

The portal is meant to serve the broad IEEE community as a focal point for news, technology updates and information on conferences, publications as well as educational and standards activities on Green ICT throughout IEEE … and why not beyond? …

It’s easy to join the IEEE Green ICT community … just click on the link on the home page!

Launched in early 2015 through the support of IEEE Future Directions’ new initiatives committee, the Green ICT initiative’s mission statement has been defined as to build a holistic approach to sustainability through ICT by incorporating green metrics throughout IEEE technical domains.

In fact, although they may not always be labeled as such, the huge interest in various sub-themes of Green ICT is spurring a growing number of activities in IEEE (and in other global organizations), which speaks eloquently to the relevance of the theme; nonetheless, this explosion of interest is a double-edged sword as it can also lead to the creation of technical interest “silos”. While encouraging the development of various activities on the theme, the Green ICT initiative therefore seeks to develop holistic awareness on this topic, avoid duplication or overlap of activities, and provide a forum to build a cross-society and cross initiative IEEE consensus on outreach to other organizations.

Through interfaces with various IEEE societies and other technology initiatives (e.g. Cloud Computing, IoT, Smart Cities, etc.), the Green ICT initiative seeks to foster the incorporation of green metrics and standards in design concepts for various technical domains. The initiative brings together expertise from different fields, in conferences and publications, with a view to foster holistic design and standardization approaches.

The initiative is driven by a steering committee with backgrounds in both industry and academia (in alphabetical order):

  • Susan Brooks, IEEE ComSoc Executive Director, USA;
  • Mohamed Chériet, Synchromedia Lab Director, Professor and Canada Research Chair, École de Technologie Supérieure (Université du Québec), Canada;
  • Cicek Cavdar, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden;
  • Thomas Dandres, Research Officer, CIRAIG, Polytechnique Montréal, and Synchromedia, École de Technologie Supérieure, Canada;
  • Charles Despins, Dean of Research, Ecole de Technologie Superieure (ETS), Universite du Quebec, Canada (initiative Co-Chair);
  • Tarek El-Bawab, IEEE ComSoc Director of Conference Operations, Jackson State University, USA;
  • Jaafar Elmirghani, Chair in Communication Networks and Systems, Director of Institute of Integrated Information Systems, School of Electronic & Electrical Engineering, University of Leeds, United Kingdom (initiative Co-Chair);
  • Rob Fish, Vice-President, Standards Activities, ComSoc & President, NETovations Group LLC, USA;
  • Kathy Grise, Senior Program Director, Future Directions, IEEE Technical Activities, USA;
  • Kerry Hinton, Principal Research Fellow, Centre for Energy-Efficient Telecommunications (CEET), University of Melbourne, Australia;
  • Dan Kilper, Director of the Center for Integrated Access Networks, University of Arizona, USA;
  • Thierry Klein, Chair of GreenTouch Technical Committee and Network Energy Research Program Leader, Nokia Bell Labs, USA;
  • Louise Krug, Senior Researcher, Carbon Reduction Strategy, British Telecom, United Kingdom;
  • Fabrice Labeau, President, IEEE Vehicular Technology Society & Associate Professor, McGill University, Canada;
  • Earl McCune,  Ph.D., Panasonic Technology Fellow (ret.), IEEE MTT Distinguished Microwave Lecturer, IEEE Solid State Circuits Society;
  • Magnus Olsson, Principal Energy Efficiency, Huawei Technologies Sweden;
  • Ana Carolina Riekstin, Postdoctoral Fellow, Synchromedia, École de Technologie Supérieure, Canada;
  • Sarah Kate Wilson, Vice-President, Publications, IEEE ComSoc & Associate Professor, Santa Clara University, USA;
  • Ke Wu, President-elect, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society & Professor and Canada Research Chair, École Polytechnique de Montréal, Canada;
  • Yaning Zou, Research Associate, Vodafone Stiftungslehrstuhl Mobile Nachrichtensysteme, Technische Universität Dresden.
  • Jacques Mc Neill, Independant consultant, Technoprise Inc.: Initiative development coordinator for IEEE Green ICT Initiative

The IEEE Communications Society, in which various technical committees have been very active on Green ICT, manages the initiative. Among these, the Technical Committee on Transmission, Access and Optical Systems (TAOS) and the Technical Committee on Green Communications and Computing (TCGCC) have driven various activities on Green ICT. The Green ICT initiative seeks to build upon such leadership in the Communications Society and build bridges with Green ICT work in other IEEE units (Societies, Councils and other initiatives) as well as ultimately in other organizations.

If you are already an IEEE member, please join the initiative. If you are not an IEEE member and/or if IEEE is new to you, IEEE is your focal point on all that is Green ICT!